In Search of Good Books About Parenting Toddlers

Remember when I was bragging about my wonderful child, Nana.  Terrible Twos?  What are you talking about.   And you say three is worse?  Pshaw.  She’s not that kind of child.  She is rainbows and sunshine, sugar and spice and everything nice.

Sooo. Yeah.  I was wrong about that.  Nana is slowly becoming a child who disobeys me while looking me straight in the face. She sometimes has the nerve to have a sly look while doing it. She is slowful,  taking forever to follow a simple direction.

That child doesn’t know that sometimes she is working that one nerve.  You know that last good one.

So in order to preserve that one nerve, and perhaps nurse the other ones back to health, I’ve decided to do some research through reading books about parenting toddlers.  I plan to read the books and share my thoughts about what things resonated with me and what parts wouldn’t work for our family.  I would love for folks to join along with me.

The first book will be “The Happiest Toddler on the Block: How to Eliminate Tantrums and Raise a Patient, Respectful, and Cooperative One- to Four-Year-Old” by Dr. Harvey Karp.  It was recommended by the assistant director at our daycare when I expressed frustration with Nana’s behaviors.

Happiest Toddler on the Block Parenting Book

The synopsis reads:

In one of the most revolutionary advances in parenting of the past twenty-five years, Dr. Karp revealed that toddlers often act like uncivilized little cavemen, with a primitive way of thinking and communicating that is all their own. In this revised edition of his parenting classic, Dr. Karp has made his innovative approach easier to learn—and put into action—than ever before.

I’m not too thrilled with the words used in this synopsis but I’ll reserve judgement until I read the book.  I’ve ordered it through Amazon Prime so I expect to be reading it soon.

In the meantime, I would love for you to drop the names of your favorite toddler parenting books in the comments.  I have a feeling that I’m going to be reading a lot more books…

3 thoughts on “In Search of Good Books About Parenting Toddlers

  1. I know you asked for books, but sometimes I learned very helpful ideas from watching the show Super Nanny. I don’t know if you have a DVR, but there used to be reruns on during the day when I had cable. It can be difficult (for me anyway) to watch what a mess some of the poor families are, but Super Nanny always helps the family come out stronger.

    An older book I like is “How to Talk so Kids Will Listen So Kids Will Talk” Example: When she gets upset she cannot have a ton of sugary cereal, I learned what a difference it made to say “I wish we could eat 3 bowls of Cocoa Puffs every morning too! That would be yummy!” rather than “No. You know you will get a sick tummy from that much sugary cereal.” Her response was a big smile and we fantasized together about a life of endless Cocoa Puffs and no sick bellies. She felt understood even if she still couldn’t have what she wanted.

    Wow! I wrote you a short essay. 😊 I’m looking forward to your book reviews.

    • Thanks for the recommendation. I’m writing “How to Talk So Kids Will Listen & Listen So Kids Will Talk” down on the list. I may or may not have watched Super Nanny back in the day. I may or may not have judged those families. I may or may not feel a bit ashamed about that. I can’t really say. 🙂

Leave a Reply

