The Mew, Mew, Mew Blues

This weekend, Nana and I were off.  Something was kind of not working where she was clearly not listening to me and running off to Daddy.  She preferred to be around Daddy and not around me in a way that was so visible that Wood asked, “are ya’ll beefin?”

Me?  Beefing with a toddler?  Well, kind of.  She had been working my nerve with the whining.  When did the whining start?  Ughhh.

She finishes her water and wants more.  Mew, mew, mew

Her sock comes off. Mew, mew, mew.

She wants some raisins.  Mew, mew, mew.

For the “mew, mew, mew,” picture a scrunched up face and indecipherable sounds of toddler anguish, interspersed with heavy breathing and chest heaves (to let you know that it’s real) designed to irritate the most patient of mothers.  Girl, what do you want? You know how to say water, sock and raisin.  Stop it.

Yesterday morning.  Yeah, on a Monday.  I asked Nana to take off her pajama bottoms and pullup like she does EVERY MORNING where she typically jumps up and says, “I did it.”  But that day, it was “mew, mew, mew” and moving a centimeter a minute.  I mean homegirl was acting like she had never seen pajamas before.  She trrrriiieeed it.

My mother called while we were on the way to daycare and I started telling her about the mew, mew, mew blues.  And MY momma, the one that birthed me and should always be on my side, basically told me that my whining was getting on her nerves.

She actually said no such thing but that’s what I boiled it down to – in a good way.  She asked me to look at the situation from a different perspective.  Perhaps it was things going on with me that was the actual irritant and Nana was just doing what she always did.  She also said that the same way that I have a bad mornings where I am moving slow, Nana has those days too.

Immediately, the issues that I was facing at work came to mind.  I was dreading going in to the office yesterday and was moving slow myself.  This mean less time for Nana to have her toddler slowdown.

I’m also the one usually advocating for Nana’s personhood but speaking to my mother showed that I had missed the mark on that day.  I didn’t allow for her to have a bad day and for me to be that safe space where she could feel comforted in the same way that my mother allowed me to be comforted.

I was pretty proud of my mom that day for feeling like she could give me the feedback and pretty awesome that I was able to receive it.  Let’s see how we can manage the mew, mew, mew blues from now on.

8 thoughts on “The Mew, Mew, Mew Blues

    • It sounds kind of like a kitten so I captured it exactly. So, about that packet that has been sitting on your kitchen table…what’s going on?

  1. Thank you for sharing this. I feel better knowing I’m not alone as I feel the same way on Monday morning school run with “Kelly”. She’s always in dawdle mode and takes forever to get ready and I find myself feeling less happy in the morning.
    Being aware of what’s going on is a great step. Good for you being able to accept the feedback from mum, and good for mum for giving it to you.

    • It wasn’t my finest moment but I’m really glad that my mother was able to give me some perspective. We all have our dawdle moments and taking a moment to remember that was sooo helpful. Does Kelly only dawdle on Mondays?

      • “Kelly” is a dawdler. Most of the time it’s not an issue for us as we have her on the weekend, but I know she dawdles at home too as her carer makes comments about how long it takes her to do things. Recently respite for Kelly changed from Friday night to Sunday night to Saturday morning to Monday morning, so the dawdling is more of an issue as we’re getting ready for school. Some mornings she’s great, others, not so great. Time to step back and see what we can see that makes the difference

Leave a Reply

