Nana is my road dog

This past weekend we took our first trip with Nana to visit my grandmother.  Although the situation was not ideal, the trip was a pretty good one.  In true ABM style, here’s a recap:


 

CPS caseworkers are not all alike.  The initial CPS caseworker lost all of our paperwork.  But this new lady is ON IT.  We received our travel authorization two days after it was submitted.  When our plans changed, I sent her a text/email around 1 PM.  She got the updated version to us by 5 PM.  I am more than impressed and need to find some way to show her my appreciation.

Nana has secured her spot as my road dog.  Nana was AMAZING on the trip home.  Our flight left around 7 PM.  On a normal day, should would have eaten dinner already and be on her way to a bath.  Even though her schedule was off, she held up like a champ.  We sat by a pilot on our first leg and she chatted him up a bit while eating her bookstore sandwich – all that we had time to grab before boarding our plane.  Everyone around us gushed about how good she was, and how verbal she was for a two year old.  I was a proud mama.

When we landed in Dallas, she ran around a bit causing people to look around in alarm (I’m here folks, right behind her), pointed out the birds in the ceiling artwork, fell off the toilet and under the stall (the funniest thing that happened all day), and was generally loving and cute.

Grandma is smitten.  Because of the crazy f—ed up “frequent visitor” policy that Texas has just instituted this year, my mother has not been able to visit us without going through a round-a-bout background check and FBI fingerprint situation.  So, this was the first time she got to meet Nana.  She is a goner.  Anything Nana wants she can get it from her Nanna.  At one point during the night, we turned on Pharrell’s “Happy” and she got to doing her Nana dance which looks like a combination of a ball chain shuffle and a horse gallop, all of which means that it is absolutely ADORABLE!  My mother almost peed her pants from laughing so hard.  I sooo wish I could post the video.

No matter how old you are, you are never ready to lose your grandmother.  My grandmother is 93, although my mother has reported that she was going around telling folks that she was 100.  The week before last, she was taken to the hospital because she was talking gibberish and it was found that she had a bleed on the brain.  So.  I don’t know.  I don’t know what is next but no matter how much I try to prepare for this, I know that when I get the call, I will just want to curl into a ball.

But at the same time I’m grateful.  I’m grateful that we were able to drop everything and go home. I’m grateful that Mamah was able to meet Nana and know that her prayers were answered.  I’m grateful that my husband was able to see her again.  I’m just grateful to have that one last time to say goodbye, if this is the time.

Family will come around.  You know, it’s interesting how when you want folks to go visit Mamah on a regular basis they are too busy but when she is in the hospital, ya’ll can make two/three trips a week.  One of my family members had to nerve to suggest that my cousin wait until my grandmother dies before she travels in order to save her money.  Really?  Really!?!?  I just spent a small fortune in travel costs just so she can lay eyes on my daughter  while she is living.  Is it more important to attend a funeral versus saying goodbye?   Hmph.  That’s all I’m going to say about that.

 

2 thoughts on “Nana is my road dog

  1. I’m so glad you were able to go and have all that delicious family time. Did you soak it up, put some in a baggy and take it back with you?

    I lost both of my grands in the last 5 years. I was able to see one a few days before she passed away; one of the best decisions I ever made was to drop everything and spend a few hours at her bedside. Glad you got the chance to have that time.

    Ha! Love the recap stylo!

  2. I’m sorry to hear that, Mimi. I can only imagine how your heart feels. I’m happy that you and Napa were able to make that trip! I agree that a great CPS worker is gold.

Leave a Reply

