For Our Food

Jessamy over at Adventures in Fostering told a story about teaching his FD to say “more” and eventually Splash said it on her own.  It reminded me of Nana and her prayers.  Before she eats, we teach Nana to say a prayer.  I suspect that she was doing this at her previous foster home also since she seemed to fall into it fairly easily.

God is great (Nana re-mumbles);

Good is good (she re-mumbles);

Let us thank him (more re-mumbling);

For our food (Amen with enthusiasm).

Nana, say For our food.  She says Amen.

Say “For our food.”  Amen again.

I don’t think she understands that I want her to SAY “for our food.”  She gets frustrated and looks at me like, I said Amen lady.  Is that not the end of the prayer.   What else do you want me to do?

At one point after prodding her multiple times, she just looked at me and shrugged.   Maybe one day she will shout out “FOR OUR FOOD” like Splash did.

2 thoughts on “For Our Food

  1. Lmbo. Maybe “perfect” one line at a time and before you know it…she will have the whole thing down. Is that the only grace children are taught?? I’ve never heard another one!

  2. Lol. Sounds like we’re having some similar experiences. I’m learning that I basically just have to let her do things at her own pace, and just trust that by the time she is 18 and ready to go off to college, she’ll be able to string words together into sentences. The goal now is just building up that one-word vocabulary. Apparently she needs a solid 75 words or more to get to a point where she can advance to two-word sentences. “More” adds one more to her repertoire.

Leave a Reply

