The Real Cost of Infertility Part I

I’m thankful.

I was in the RE’s finance office – which I am often. I was there to reconcile my bill with my Explanation of Benefits. Yes, I read all of my Explanation of Benefits. I didn’t use to. I used to throw them in the trash. I really didn’t know what they were. Silly, silly girl. Hey, you live and learn. *shrug* But now, I’m my own financial advocate. I might have to do a post on that.

ANTYWAY- I overheard the finance lady counseling a patient and she was showing her options on how she could finance her cycle. Do you know they have special finance companies for this? She was telling her that a fresh cycle with a frozen cycle would be ten thousand dollars. Yes ma’am. And that did not include prescriptions. I felt so bad because the woman looked so sad. I wanted to give her a hug.

Infertility costs. This is one of the prescriptions that lasts TWO days. That is all. $247. Did you see that retail price is over two thousand dollars.

When Monica Mingo at creoleoindc would talk about how blessed she was that her family could afford the treatments, I didn’t really understand. Now I see that God was working things out. When we first started saving, we were just…you know saving money. We didn’t have a plan. But God planted that seed in my mind, and he allowed us to be faithful in our savings. So that we would be prepared.

So I’m thankful.

Be fruitful,

Melodi

Leave a Reply

