Inaguration Day

Yesterday I was in a hurry. I needed to get to Victoria Island no later than 6PM and folks weren’t cooperating.

4:30 PM – Ya’ll haven’t left yet?!? My roommate needed to go home first so the driver needed to drop him off and then come back to get me.

5:00 PM – **drumming fingers on desk** Where is the driver? He should be back by now.

5:10 PM – **calling driver** He was just pulling up. I grabbed my stuff and ran down to the parking lot in record time. Let’s go.

Traffic. More traffic. I’m looking out the window, wondering if I am going to make it. I see my friend pulled over on the side of the road looking upset and talking to a policewoman. I have the driver pull over and call her. She’s just got into an accident but she’s okay. We keep going, driving over Falomo bridge. We pull into the parking lot and I run into the American Club.

Sorry, your name is not on the list. What? I’m anxious. Do they not know how important this day is. I start calling my friend who was inside, other friends who might be inside also, sending texts – someone please come get me. Finally they do and we run inside. A friend pulls out a chair for me right in front and I sit down right as Joe Biden stands up to take his oath.

I made it to see one of the most historical events in my lifetime – the inauguration of one of the first Black President of the United States of America. Although I wasn’t standing in DC like I would have liked, I was with my fellow Americans, all rejoicing in the this day together. We clapped, we cheered, we whistled, we hugged. And when it was over, we stood up and sang the national anthem – together. Today was the first time since middle school that I sang the national anthem, so it was definitely a day of change for me. I look forward to seeing what the future will bring.

Leave a Reply

